Another Fashion Blog, Another Fashion Week Round-up – Part 2 The Shows

I have spent a large part of this week trailing through images on style.com and Vogues websites trying to decide my favourite pieces from the Autumn/Winter 2012 Ready to Wear collections in London.

In general I have to say I wasn’t as awestruck as I had been with the shows last September for Spring/Summer. I think this in part because it had been one of those special fashion weeks where a distinct break away from pervading fashions emerged whilst at the same time seeming to come from the same hymn book, if not song sheet, as one another. Things turned ultra girly in pleated pastel lace at Erdem, shimmering mermaid fabrics worked their way down the catwalk at Christopher Kane and head-to-toe pastels and frills at Meadham Kirchoff.

Whilst I was encouraged by Christopher Kane and Holly Fulton’s shows that I would not be returning to my usual winter spectrum of black, dark grey, black and black, I was left a little underwhelmed by some of the shows this season. Prints weren’t as pretty, garments were cut less flatteringly and frankly didn’t have the fun girlish spirit of the season before. Everything seemed a little more brash and dare I say it a little bit ugly Betty. This is ok on a stunning 6ft model with a 24 inch waist and legs slimmer than my arms, who would frankly look great wearing a bin bag (probably more than great), but I wonder how these will translate down to us mortals on the high street? I’m really not sure how great the average woman is going to look in Oasis’ version of wide leg leather trousers or H&M’s version of a turquoise paisley oversized jumper.

Having said that there was still plenty to get my little fashion filled heart fluttering. Here are a few of my favourites.

Mary Katrantzou:


Mary has quickly become my favourite designer, wowing me with her last two collections. It seems I am not alone. The fashion world has gone mad for her. I had to stay away from Topshop when her fusion line was released to prevent myself from spending all my money and not being able to eat for a month. She is the Queen of digital print. This collection saw a transition from her previous floral prints to witty prints containing everyday items, such as stationary, watches and typewriters. The dress with the unicorns on is genius. I once read in Vice magazine that it was a fact about all girls that they loved unicorns. I am inclined to agree. (On a slight tangent, is it true that someone has stolen the egg outside Miu Miu on Bond Street from The Big Egg Hunt? If so, I promise it wasn’t me!)

Burberry Prosum


You can’t really beat a military jacket. They are really flattering on almost everybody. I like the fact they are both quite feminine in shape but also have quite a lot of masculine detailing – metal buttons, epaulettes etc. The coats in this seasons Burberry collection were really nice. I liked the peplum like ruffles at the waist and the contrasting fabrics used on some of them. I can imagine the dark panelling at the sides would even further enhance their flattering shape. I also liked the mix of autumnal colours, navy with golden browns and burgundy with forest  green. I would really love to invest in a Burberry coat myself. I tried one on recently and the quality of the fabric really impressed me. It didn’t feel heavy at all but the weave was so close you could tell it would be really warm. Plus it was extremely soft. Now every time I look at my tired Topshop coat I want to throw it in the bin. I can’t even bring myself to wear it.

Burberry leather goods are also amazing (I enjoy spending my money even more now I have a Burberry purse). The animal head clutch bags and studded gloves are beautiful. Anyone who knows me would know I’d love these (my purse is studded). The clash of the toughness of the metal, against the silly frivolity of the animal heads makes me smile.

I was not so sure about the animal print knitwear and jersey though. I can see these as well as the elasticated bow belts translating badly to the high street and I preferred the menswear versions.
Christopher Kane

The Christopher Kane show for me, was all about this zingy purple. There were red and blue garments too but none of these excited me as much. I really like the way these seem to glow against their black detailing, almost like neon lights in an 80’s movie. Love the shoes too.

2 thoughts on “Another Fashion Blog, Another Fashion Week Round-up – Part 2 The Shows

    • I’d rather have the fox head one or a pair of studded gloves. Also I’m sure the Burberry ones are quite nice in real life, I’m more concerned about the high-street rip offs which will undoubtedly be EVERYWHERE in six months time.

Leave a Reply

