Another Fashion Blog, Another London Fashion Week A/W12 Round-up – Part 1: Somerset House

I am a little late in getting this out but any decent fashion blog would not be complete without a round-up of the highs and lows of fashion week. As I am so late and now have rather a lot to say, this is going to be in two parts.

As yet, I am a mere mortal (a few more followers and this could all change – press pass? Yes please. The power is in your hands readers. Go on – hit the follow button). As such, this week for me is not a busy week rushing between shows, glasses of free champagne and beautifully packaged goodies. No, for me it is about constantly clicking refresh on the vogue.com shows page, noticing far more expensive handbags around the streets of London, and having an even greater than usual lust for 7 figure salary. Woe is me and my cheap little shoes.

I did manage to drag myself and my shabbily clad figure to Somerset House to bask in the beauty of the special people though.  The main thing I noticed amongst the sea of Jeffrey Campbell boots and fake fur stoles (this is no criticism – I too was wearing such things) were bright pops of colour amongst the crowd, in the form of neon hats, bright pink pleated midi skirts, aquamarine hair with matching brows (this looked a lot better than it sounds), a bright orange coat and some fabulous orange furs.

Like a lot of women I’m sure, I am extremely guilty of hiding myself under layers of black in winter. Black coat, black opaque tights, black bootstrap, black scarf, black jersey dress. It’s all too comfortable. Yes, that is my black leather jacket above. Case in point. In summer it seems easier and more appropriate to exhibit oneself in brightly coloured florals and a casually adorned fuchsia pashmina. However the bright colours were what really sung at Somerset House, full of the optimism of spring and inspired me to re-assess the colour spectrum of my own miserable wardrobe. Although I think certain colours can be cheapened when mixed with black – ie. the “jazzy” red top and black trouser look as seen in many women’s weekly makeover pages – I was really taken with the casual way some of the “fash pack” had managed to nonchalantly mix in a neon hat or shoe with a neutral outfit.

The bright orange coat and orange furs above were some of my favourites of the day and led to the immediate purchase of  a rusty orange fur scarf from H&M. Whilst I don’t think I’ll ever be able to part from my trusty black tights, I am taking small steps in the right direction. Next step neon!

Leave a Reply

