Brain Activity – David Shrigley at the Hayward Gallery

Although unlikely to be everyone’s taste, David Shrigley’s dark, sarcastic and sometimes straight up silly humour is right up my street. This exhibition brings together drawings, paintings, sculpture, animation and taxidermy from Shrigley’s back catalogue. Although I often find myself sniggering to myself in art galleries, this time I wasn’t the only one. Laughing out loud was actively encouraged.

Shrigley gently pokes fun at his contempories, referencing the likes of Damien Hirst as well as taking obvious inspiration from earlier Surrealists such as Magritte. I particularly liked his taxidermy pieces such as the headless squirrel entitled “Nutless” and the animated Jack Russell pronouncing on a placard his status “I am Dead”. A little picture of him now sits upon my desk. Hee hee hee.

There’s certainly worse ways to spend £8 on a grey weekend in London.

Brain Activity is showing at the Hayward Gallery at the Southbank Centre until May 13th.

One thought on “Brain Activity – David Shrigley at the Hayward Gallery

Leave a Reply

