My December Glossybox (in January!)

My Box of Delights

So, I finally signed up to glossybox this month and to my surprise they sent me the December box. Unfortunately, since I have already seen other people’s reviews, the contents weren’t very surprising. It was a bit of a mixed bag (or box) with some fantastic products and some that were incredibly disappointing.

Deborah Lippmann Nail Lacquer in Razzle Dazzle - £16 for 15ml

I was most excited to see this Deborah Lippmann nail varnish. This is THE perfect colour as far as I’m concerned and I’ve been looking for something like it for ages. My photos are a bit rubbish (bear with me – I’m sure I’ll improve) but its basically a dark raspberry with fine glitter fragments. As I’m a bit obsessed with everything astral at the moment it is perfect.

However at £16 per bottle I will not be rushing out to buy any more of her varnishes. This was a bit of a bitch to paint on – it kept dragging and was really sticky. I needed three coats to get it to give the look I wanted (despite everyone else’s blogs saying it only needed two). It felt gritty, even with a thick layer of top coat, and chipped after two days. Frankly, at that price I want it to leap out of the pot and paint itself and last a whole week without chipping. However as I didn’t pay full price for it I am a happy bunny.

Deborah Lippman "stripper to Go" Nail Laquer Remover Mitt - £14 for a box of 6

The little mitt for removing the varnish is wonderful. The lavender scent is lovely and even my boyfriend didn’t moan about the smell – normally he won’t let me do my nails anywhere near him. Unfortuneatly, as I am not loaded, I won’t be purchasing these either at a rather ludicrous £14 for a set of six. It was nice whilst it lasted.

Rituals "Hamman Delight" foaming shower Gel - £6.50

This Rituals foaming body wash was perfect for me. I loved the rosemary and eucalyptus smell which is particularly comforting as I am suffering like most people I know from a hideous January cold. It foams well and it’s a rather sizeable bottle. At £6.50 a bottle it’s a bit pricier than a bottle of Dove but a bit cheaper than the lush body wash I’ve been using for a little while. I’d consider buying it in future, especially as a gift.

Nip + Fab Spot Fix - £15.95 for 15ml

I find it particularly annoying that at 25 I am now both treating my wrinkles and my spots simultaneously. I find it difficult to tell whether this sort of product works or not because I can never tell if they’d just fade away on their own anyway, but I used it on a particularly unfriendly spot and it seemed to help. I am going to continue to use it.

Cargo Lipgloss - £10

I’m not really a lipgloss person so this isn’t ideal for me. The consistency is quite good – its not too sticky but it has a silver frosty sheen to it which isn’t particularly en vogue. Not sure anyone wants “frosty” lips do they? It’s yours if you want it.

Blink + Go Eyeshadow & Blush Palette - £12.95

I’m pretty sure I don’t need to say anything about the above. The picture speaks for itsself. Frankly the eyeshadows in my tinkerbell makeup set from Toys R Us were not so different . Who is this even for? It’s £12.95 a palette as well so they are expecting you to part with real cash, it’s not a joke. Also, considering the compact and box are quite nicely designed, why would they spend no money on the applicator? Does anyone put on eyeshadow with a little bit of foam on a stick? I’m not sure why I haven’t binned this yet. Maybe I’m still in shock.

2 thoughts on “My December Glossybox (in January!)

  1. Pingback: Review: Glossybox January 2012 | Tilly buys a Townhouse

Leave a Reply

